rpa home
     New 2014 Members Are Welcome!
homepage vale committee about us latest news faq's history membership







Brisbane Northern Suburbs

Central Coast

Central Tablelands

Coffs Harbour

Dubbo District

Gold Coast

Hornsby & District



Manning Great Lakes

Mid North Coast

Murray River


New England

Northern Metropolitan

Northern Rivers

Parramatta Hills


Penrith Blue Mountains


South Coast

Southern Highlands


Water Police

Wide Bay

Have you got a comment about this website or any matters you wish to raise with your Committee of Management? You can E-mail us or write to our...

RPA State Secretary PO Box 354, Wingham NSW 2429


(02) 6551 4413

1300 581713



Search RPA for:


Our Association was established in 1931, originally named the Retired Police Officers Association. The word ‘Officers’ was dropped shortly afterwards because it indicated that only commissioned officers may join. The early history has been lost with the misplacement of minutes and other records. Our earliest documents record a meeting held at the City of Sydney RSL Club on 15 November, 1977. The President at the time was Harry Rasmussen and the Secretary/Treasurer was Ted Davis. Both of these members are now deceased. It is also noted that on the 16 July, 1985 the acting Secretary was Ian Leeding. Unfortunately, Ian is now deceased.

In 1987 there was a notice of motion for the association to be wound up because of lack of attendance. Ken Fitzpatrick then took over the reins as the Secretary and his skill and enthusiasm laid the grounds for today’s association. Unfortunately, Ken passed away in 1993. Barry Hocking had been elected as the Secretary in 1990,with Ken as President. Bob Day took over from Ken following his untimely death.

In 1988 it was proposed by the Police Association of NSW that the Retired Police Association take over the four Associate Branches as that association was mainly concerned with the interests of serving police. However, due to changes in the executive of the Police Association of NSW, this proposal did not eventuate. The Police Association had established the four Associate Branches when dealing with the Trades and Labour Council. 

Since 1977 the following have held office :-


                    President                                       Secretary


                         Harry Rasmussen                              Red Davis

                         Harry Rasmussen                              Dick Adams

                         Ian Leeding                                      Harry Rusmussen

                         Harry Rasmussen                              Ken Fitzpatrick

                         Dick Cox                                          Ken Fitzpatrick

                         Ken Fitzpatrick                                  Barry Hocking

                         Bob Day                                           Barry Hocking

                         Paul Biscoe                                       George Weissel

                         Paul Biscoe                                       Barry Hocking

                         Paul Biscoe                                       Peter Rankin



In 1990 we had a membership of 800 with three Branches, Headquarters, Penrith Blue Mountains and the Central Coast. In 2003 we had a membership of 3,500 with twenty two branches. Today we have 25 branches. They meet at Brisbane & Northern Suburbs, Central Coast; Central Tablelands; Coffs Harbour; Cronulla Sutherland; Dubbo District; Gold Coast; Illawarra; Kiama; Manning Great Lakes; Murray River; Newcastle; New England; Northern Metropolitan; Northern Rivers; Parramatta - The Hills, Peel; Penrith Blue Mountains; Riverina; South Coast; Southern Highlands; Sunshine Coast; Sydney; Water Police - Sub/Branch and Queensland Wide Bay. We enjoy a good working relationship with the Police Association of NSW, the Police Credit Union and the NSW Police Legacy.


Full membership is open to retired NSW Police & their widows. Associate membership is open to retired police and their widows from any recognised interstate or overseas Police Force.


We are not a registered trade union, but our aims include agitating for improved conditions for our members by means of representations to government and non government bodies. We are active in our participation in the support of other Police Support groups and our involvement with the National Police Remembrance Day organising committee.


The Retired Police Association of NSW Inc. is led by a ten person Committee of Management, elected annually from the membership.



(If any other area considers that sufficient personnel exist to form a Branch, please contact State HQ Secretary)




Table of Contents

Presidents Report

Secretaries Report

RPA Constitution

Police Credit Union

Membership Transfer Form

NSW Police Service

Contact RPA COM

These Pages are designed for Microsoft Internet Explorer best viewed at 800x600
Return to Top of Page
Home - Contents - About Us - Webmaster - FAQ's - History - Application for Membership - Feedback - Help
Terms of Use  -  Privacy Policy

© 2014 – The Retired Police Association of New South Wales Incorporated. All Rights Reserved.

This Website Is Wholly Owned By The RPA Committee of Management.